No, it is illegal to mail marijuana in Oregon. Per the Federal Controlled Substance Act, marijuana is a Schedule I controlled substance with a high potential for abuse. Even though the Oregon Adult and Medical Use of Cannabis Act legalized marijuana in Oregon, the United States Postal Service (USPS) is a federal agency and therefore cannot process parcels that contain marijuana, including edibles. Mailing marijuana from Oregon into another state is also prohibited.
Furthermore, it is illegal to mail weed through third-party carriers. The law only allows registered marijuana retailers to deliver weed to homes.
Edibles are products consumed through the mouth (solid or liquid) containing cannabinoids found in the cannabis plant. These products have varying proportions of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) or cannabidiol (CBD). THC produces the euphoric, intoxicating effects associated with cannabis, while CBD is non-intoxicating. Edibles provide alternatives to smoking or vaping marijuana. Some of these products include gummies, brownies, cookies, drinks, and root beer.
The penalty for transporting marijuana edibles across state lines under federal laws is up to 12 months of incarceration and a fine of $1,000.00 for a first conviction. A second conviction is punishable by a mandatory 15-day minimum sentence, a $2,500.00 fine, and up to 2 years of incarceration. Subsequent convictions carry a compulsory 90-day minimum sentence, up to 3 years of imprisonment, and a fine of up to $5,000.00. However, Oregon residents should note that penalties may stretch to life imprisonment and more than $50,000,000.00 in fines depending on the quantity trafficked and whether or not the crime involved death or injury.
The following tips may help to get drug trafficking charges dismissed:
Drug trafficking, or drug distribution in Oregon, is selling, distributing, transporting, or importing illegal drugs. Drugs most commonly trafficked include cocaine, marijuana, heroin, and methamphetamines. Drug trafficking is a felony at the federal level and in most states in the US.
Facts about drug trafficking in Oregon are:
Federal agencies responsible for monitoring drug trafficking in Oregon include the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC), Oregon State Police, city police departments, and county sheriff’s offices also monitor and charge offenders in Oregon.
Oregon drug data supplied by the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) show a month-on-month decline in the number of persons arrested for marijuana distribution from an average of 100 arrests in January 2013 to about 20 arrests in December 2015.
Per the Oregon Adult and Medical Use of Cannabis Act, residents should not possess, transfer, sell, or distribute more than 56 grams (2 ounces) of marijuana. Distributing more than 150 grams (5.3 ounces) is considered trafficking in Oregon and attracts more severe penalties. However, marijuana trafficking may attract lighter penalties than trafficking other drugs, depending on the drug and other crime specifics.
Persons found trafficking 453.6 grams (16 ounces) or more of marijuana may be charged with a misdemeanor. Parties found guilty face up to 1 year in prison, a fine of up to $6,250.00, or both. Selling marijuana to a minor is a Class C felony and may be punished with a jail sentence of up to 5 years, a fine of up to $125,000.00, or both.
Trafficking any amount of weed within 1,000 feet of school grounds is a Class A felony, punishable by up to 20 years incarceration, a $375,000.00 fine, or both. Courts may impose harsher punishments for repeat offenders trafficking more than 150 grams (5.3 ounces) of marijuana.
Marijuana retailers must register with the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission before delivering weed to individual homes. Retailers and their employees must also register with the state’s Cannabis Trafficking System (CTS) before transporting marijuana. Regardless, retailers must not transport more than $3,000.00 worth of weed at any time and must not make more than one delivery to the same address in a day. Qualified establishments must adhere to the OLCC’s Retailer Home Delivery Guide.
Marijuana retailers can only deliver marijuana in the jurisdiction where their premises are licensed. However, retailers can deliver marijuana to medical marijuana patients or their designated caregivers in any part of the state. All deliveries should be between 8 am and 9 pm.
Marijuana products meant for delivery must be locked in a lockbox inside the delivery vehicle. Each product should carry a clear label and not be bundled with non-marijuana products. Retailers should only deliver to the person who made the order and also have them sign. Minors under the age of 21 years may not order for or receive marijuana products.
A marijuana retailer license is obtainable from the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission by completing the Marijuana Retailer application. However, Oregon House Bill 4016 (2022) directed OLCC to stop issuing new retailer licenses between January 2, 2022, and March 31, 2024.