Licensed dispensaries can deliver marijuana products to weed users in Oregon. However, delivery can only be made to residential addresses. Licensed retailers in Oregon are prohibited from hiring third-party companies to handle their weed delivery services. If a licensed retailer must use an individual to deliver cannabis products, such a person must be registered as the retailer's employee in the state's Cannabis Tracking System. State law allows local jurisdictions to prohibit weed delivery within their borders.
Yes, medical marijuana delivery is legal in Oregon, per Oregon Revised Statutes 475C.770 (Cannabis Regulation/Oregon Medical Marijuana Act). However, medical cannabis dispensaries are not allowed to operate marijuana delivery services. Only licensed retailers (recreational cannabis dispensaries) or their representatives can deliver medical cannabis to patients or caregivers registered in the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP).
Yes, Measure 91 permits the delivery of recreational marijuana to adults aged 21 years or older in Oregon. Retailers licensed by the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) and registered for cannabis delivery can deliver recreational weed to customers’ homes.
Marijuana users (patients, caregivers, and adults 21 years and older) in Oregon can order medical or recreational cannabis online from licensed retailers and have the products delivered directly to their homes. They may either fill out the online forms provided on the dispensaries' websites or contact them (the dispensaries) by phone to place their orders. Online orders must be delivered by retailers or their representatives.
In Oregon, an online order for marijuana or cannabis products must be placed before 8:00 p.m. on the day the delivery is to be made. A valid online order for marijuana products must have the following information:
The purchase limits for marijuana delivery in Oregon are the same as the daily purchase limits at licensed retail stores. Generally, when ordering marijuana or cannabis products for delivery in Oregon, a person may only purchase up to the following amounts in one day or at any given time:
Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMPP) patients must be at least 18 years of age to use the weed delivery services of OLCC-licensed marijuana retailers selling cannabis for medical purposes. Where a patient is a minor (under 18), their caregiver can order medical cannabis products for delivery on their behalf. Lastly, adults aged 21 years or older can order recreational marijuana products for home delivery.
In Oregon, all OLCC-licensed marijuana retailers are qualified to deliver cannabis products. However, only those registered with the agency for delivery and their representatives may deliver to marijuana consumers. The OLCC requires any person delivering cannabis or marijuana products on behalf of a retailer to register as an employee of that retailer in the Cannabis Tracking System (CTS). A marijuana retailer in Oregon is prohibited from hiring another company to operate their weed delivery services.
All OLCC-licensed cannabis retailers offer marijuana delivery services to OMMP patients, regardless of where the patients live or where the retailers' stores are located in Oregon. Patients can search the internet with "Oregon dispensaries offering marijuana delivery services near me" for a list of state-licensed marijuana retailers registered for cannabis delivery nearby.
In Oregon, marijuana retailers may only deliver recreational cannabis in the same jurisdictions as their licensed premises. Hence, it is the responsibility of adult-use cannabis customers in the state to confirm that the licensed premises of the dispensaries from which they are ordering marijuana for delivery are within the jurisdiction of their residences. The jurisdiction will largely be the same as the local or county government in which a consumer's residence is located, although there may be exceptions. Weed delivery can only be made to buyers' residences in Oregon, provided the residences are not located on publicly-owned lands. The state prohibits marijuana delivery to hotels, dormitories, motels, or other similar commercial business spots.
Yes. Oregon requires buyers to validate their identities at the point of taking delivery of their orders. Therefore, no one can receive weed orders on behalf of a buyer as they must present a valid ID at the point of delivery. The delivery personnel will check the recipient's ID to confirm that the person is the same individual who placed the order and that they are at least 21 years old for recreational marijuana delivery. For medical marijuana delivery, the delivery agent may request to see the recipient's medical marijuana card. In addition to their ID and/or medical marijuana card, the recipient must sign for the delivery.
While weed delivery is available and allowed at the state level, local municipalities in Oregon may prohibit marijuana delivery services in their jurisdictions or have additional weed delivery rules. Jurisdictions that prohibit home delivery of cannabis cannot refuse licensed retailers from traveling through their borders to other jurisdictions that allow marijuana delivery.
Generally, OLCC-licensed marijuana retailers can deliver to registered cannabis patients anywhere in the state. However, they may only deliver weed to recreational cannabis users outside their licensed jurisdictions if such counties or cities have opted to permit marijuana delivery from other jurisdictions. Before attempting to deliver weed to a home address in Oregon, a licensed marijuana retailer is advised to check the Home Delivery Map. This will help them to confirm whether they can deliver weed to the consumer requesting weed delivery.