Yes, CBD oil is legal in Oregon. The state permits the use of CBD extracted from industrial hemp and cannabis. After Measure 67, the Oregon Medical Marijuana Act was passed in 1998; medical cannabis became legal. Hence, medical cannabis products, including CBD, are legal in the state under the Oregon Medical Marijuana Act. Oregon also permits hemp-derived CBD to be used, and there is no legal prohibition against the sale of CBD products to persons under age 21 years. Persons under 21 years old may use any form of CBD, apart from inhalable CBD forms such as CBD flower and vape.
The Oregon Secretary of State Administrative Rules Administrative Rules (OAR) 603-048-0010 (17) authorizes the consumption of cannabinoid (CBD) obtained from industrial hemp. The law defines industrial hemp as an item processed by a handler containing chemical compounds extracted from industrial hemp, including CBD, and an average total THC concentration that does not exceed 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. OAR 333-007-0310 established the samples of CBD concentrates, products, and extracts intended for human use, consumption, or ingestion. According to this law, a cannabinoid product is a cannabinoid edible or any other product intended for human use or consumption. Examples are cannabinoid products intended to be applied to a person's skin or hair or cannabinoid extracts and concentrates combined with an added substance intended to be ingested or inhaled.
OAR 333-007-0220 specifies the maximum concentration of THC permitted in a single serving of a CBD product or CBD concentrate or extract and the number of servings authorized in a CBD product container or CBD concentrate and extract container. The medical cannabis concentration and serving size limits for CBD are as follows:
|Type of Marijuana Item
|Maximum Concentration or Amount of THC Per Serving
|Maximum Concentration or Amount of THC in Container
|CBD Transdermal Patches
|CBD Concentrates or Extracts
|CBD Products other than CBD Edibles, Capsules, Topicals, Tinctures, Suppositories or Transdermal Patches and Not Intended for Human Consumption
In addition, OAR 603-048-0125 mandates that hemp producers register with the Department of Agriculture to produce industrial hemp at grow sites. The grow sites must also be registered with the Department except exempted in OAR 603-048-0100. OAR 603-048-0200 outlines the procedure of grower registration.
Oregon does not establish any possession limits for hemp-derived CBD products. There are no restrictions to the sale, quantity, or delivery mechanism of industrial hemp-derived CBD, provided the CBD product meets federal requirements. Residents of all ages can use hemp-derived CBD for medical purposes. However, only adults aged 21 and over or adults aged 18 that have a medical marijuana program card can possess CBD oil. The maximum possession limit for marijuana CBD oil is 72 ounces in liquid form and 16 ounces in solid form.
Doctors can only recommend but not prescribe CBD oil in Oregon. An Attending Physician may recommend the use of CBD derived from marijuana to treat registered patients suffering from approved debilitating medical conditions, including:
Oregon requires individuals buying CBD in stores located in the state to be over the age of 18. This means that shoppers at CBD stores, dispensaries, and smoke shops may be asked to present their IDs before purchasing CBD products.
Oregon requires hemp producers to obtain a license to grow hemp for CBD. However, the state does not require a license to sell hemp-derived CBD products under the Oregon Department of Agriculture Hemp Program. The law permits individuals to sell hemp-derived CBD products at a retail location provided their THC concentration is <0.3% and the products are not advertised as dietary supplements. There is currently no requirement for a license or registration for a business to sell CBD products.
Hemp growers are required to complete and submit the Oregon Hemp Grower/Grow Site Registration Application with the applicable fees (hemp grower registration $250 and hemp grow site registration $500) and documentation. The fees are non-refundable and cannot be pro-rated once a registration has been issued.
Applicants may pay the applicable fees via checks or money orders made addressed to "Oregon Department of Agriculture." Such payments should be mailed via USPS only to:
Oregon Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 4395, Unit 17
Portland, OR 97208-4395
Or via credit card payment, which can be mailed or faxed to:
Oregon Department of Agriculture
635 Capitol Street NE, Suite 100
Salem, OR 97301-2532
Secure Fax: (503) 986-4746
Note that all dishonored checks or electronic payments will incur a $25 administrative fee pursuant to ORS 30.701. Registered hemp growers are required to renew their registrations annually unless the registration is revoked.
In Oregon, the labeling requirements differ, depending on the form the hemp-derived CBD takes as specified in OAR 333-007-0060 - 333-007-0085. Before a CBD product is sold or transferred to a patient, consumer, or designated primary caregiver, the product must meet the requirements listed below:
The container holding the CBD topical must have a label that has the following information:
The container holding the CBD edible must have a label that has the following information:
The container holding the CBD concentrate or extract must have a label that has the following information:
The container holding the CBD tincture must have a label that has the following information:
In Oregon, individuals can buy CBD products at pharmacies, vape shops, online stores, wellness centers, and other similar retail locations.
This is the product of mixing CBD extract with a carrier oil. After extraction, CBD occurs as a thick paste-like liquid. Mixing it with a carrier oil increases its flow rate and makes it easier to formulate into other products. Manufacturers commonly use coconut oil and hemp seed oil as carrier oils for making CBD oil.
CBD refers to cannabidiol, a major ingredient found in hemp and Cannabis sativa plants. CBD is extracted from either of these plants and processed in a laboratory. Hemp and Cannabis sativa plants also produce delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), a more concentrated ingredient compared to CBD. However, hemp only contains less than 0.3% THC on a dry-weight basis. THC has psychoactive effects, which can cause anyone that uses it to get high depending on how much THC is consumed. THC binds with the cannabinoid 1 (CB1) receptors in a person's brain and produces a high or sense of euphoria. However, CBD has a more mild effect than THC as it does not affect the body temperature, locomotor activity, or memory on its own.
The most common form of CBD is CBD oil. Other forms are concentrate and extract, tinctures, topicals, and edible products. Some medical conditions physicians prescribe CBD for are migraine, seizures, inflammation, pain, anxiety, nausea, inflammatory bowel disease, depression, psychosis, or mental disorders.
When Congress passed the Agricultural Improvement Act of 2018, also known as the Hemp Farming Act of 2018, hemp-derived CBD products containing less than 0.3 percent THC became legal at the federal level. Hemp and cannabis-derived CBD are legal in Oregon.
Most of CBD’s health benefits comes from its calming effect on the nervous system. This neuroprotective effect is responsible for CBD’s anti-seizure properties as well as its claimed effectiveness for managing certain mental health disorders such as anxiety and depression. In addition to these, CBD also helps with insomnia, inflammation, and chronic pain. Early evidence suggests that it may also be useful for lowering high blood pressure and boosting appetite.
CBD does not show up on cannabis drug tests but THC and its metabolites do. Users of low-THC CBD products are unlikely to fail drug tests. However, regular users of marijuana-derived CBD products or unregulated CBD products with more THC content than the amounts specified on their labels can fail drug tests intended to find detectable levels of THC and its metabolites.